Apples of gold

We all know the old rhyme “Sticks and Stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me”

Sadly for some the opposite is true, their spirit has been crushed by words someone has spoken to them.

Words have the power to hurt or heal, comfort or criticise

The book of Proverbs has much to say about the use of words. My real favourite is “A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver”

Imagine an apple made of gold, how beautiful and remarkable it is, shiny and lustrous, inviting you to hold it, gaze on it and see your reflection in it.

Perhaps you grew up believing you were worthless, clumsy, stupid, fat, skinny or dumb. You see yourself through other’s criticism

You were never told you were special, beautiful, unique, a masterpiece or most importantly that you were loved unconditionally.

I can’t undo all the damage someone may have done to you but I can tell you this.

You are unique, there’s no one else like you. You do have value and are worth something, whatever people see on the outside your inner beauty can shine through.

I didn’t make these things up randomly. There is One whose masterpiece you are, who loves you unconditionally and who loved you enough to give up His life for you. Listen to the words He has to say.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

