There’s always a teaspoon

Have you ever noticed that there’s always a teaspoon in the sink when you’ve finished the washing up? Even when you didn’t use one? I find the shiny culprit buried in the soaps suds, no matter how thoroughly I checked there it is, shining defiantly at me.

So what’s a teaspoon to do with anything?
They’re useful. Come in different shapes and sizes, measure the sugar in your tea.

I though about how we so often try to be perfect in life, like Mary Poppins, practically perfect in every way or Jonathan Livingstone Seagull who strove so hard for perfection that always eluded him.

We can end up frustrated, disappointed or disillusioned when we fail to meet our own standards or those others expect of us. Some people can’t get up again believing themselves failures forever.

We all have flaws, just as there’s usually a teaspoon in the sink

The good news we don’t have to stay failures. Jesus’ friends failed Him miserably when He needed them most, but He still loved them and came back to show them there was another chance.So next time you come across the teaspoon, next time you’re reminded of past mistakes and failures, just remember ….

We come in all shapes and sizes, we are still useful to someone and there IS Someone
Who’s prepared to overlook our flaws, to see past our weaknesses to the person He created us to be.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s always a teaspoon

  1. It was nice to read your post. Thank you for posting this piece!

Leave a Reply

