Peace at last!

So at last you have the house back to yourself. You can reclaim the TV or the radio, clean up the bedrooms, and savour a little peace and quiet. You’ve finished fighting over the choice of school shoes, found the lunchboxes, they’ve gone back to school and life falls into the familiar routines again.

The peace may be short lived but it is precious. How many of us know real peace in our lives? I’m not just talking about the peace of the empty house. Of course you may be following your family out of the door, rushing off to work and your own busy lives.

How many of us know freedom from fear, worry or stress?

What will I cook for tea tonight?

How will I pay the mortgage, the bills? These and a thousand other thoughts rob us of the peace we crave.

The word peace in Hebrew means an absence of conflict, a state of reconciliation, of soundness and health. True peace isn’t just around us, it’s inside us that we need to be at peace with ourselves, who we are and why we’re here.

The word peace is mentioned over a thousand times in the Bible. I struggle like most people to juggle my busy life, I fail to stop and allow myself to be.
Jesus promised to leave us with a peace that the world cannot give. It is well expressed in the words of the Celtic Blessing

Deep Peace of the running wave to you

Deep Peace of the flowing air to you

Deep Peace of the shining stars to you

Deep Peace of the quiet earth to you

And the Peace of the Son of Peace to you

Love and peace

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

