Permission to fall apart Sir!

A popular TV programme “Dad’s Army” featured the hapless Corporal Jones whose catchphrase was “Don’t panic Mr Mainwaring, don’t panic”. This was usually in response to a crisis and his dithery behaviour gave the lie to his words.

What do we do when crisis looms or life seems to be falling apart around us? Major life events like death, divorce, redundancy, bankruptcy, ill health; those moments, where life changes in the twinkling of an eye and will never be the same again, challenge us to the max.

How do we handle the stress and furore of life in the 21st century? Caught up in a stressful work scenario I believed I could handle what would come my way, but in the event it has been much harder than I imagined. I have felt out of control and vulnerable, trying to ponder the imponderable and carry on while bit by bit I’ve been falling apart.

The old hymn “Abide with me” has the line “when other helpers fail and comforts flee, help of the helpless, oh abide with me” Admitting we need help isn’t a sign of weakness but an acknowledgement of our human frailty. Thankfully I did just that, the help is working though I have a way to go.

Have all your helpers fled, do you feel alone in the middle of your present darkness? Is life out of control and will it ever get back to normal? Jesus frequently used the phrase “It came…to pass…” We are not promised immunity from the storms of life but we are promised a helping presence in the midst of them, these things too will pass.

In the middle of a storm in the Galilean sea, frightened fishermen feared they would drown. Into the fury of the nightmare came the words “Peace be still”.

The Stiller of the storm still comes in the midst of our fear, offering hope where there is despair, comfort where there is sadness, peace where there is confusion. He offers us Himself. Dare you ask Him for help?

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

