What’s in the fridge?

Are there some jobs you put off doing until eventually there’s no choice but to do it? You can’t ignore it and it’s urgent. For me its defrosting the fridge, well that was in the days before they allegedly defrost themselves!

As the ice melts you’ve soon got a mess on your hands and a job you wish you’d never started. Inevitably a few frozen peas sit miserably in the ice compartment, a long lost meal you forgot you had.

Somehow you feel so much better when it’s done, the door shuts and the fridge works properly. Our hearts can be like the ice box. Frozen in a painful moment of our lives, ice surrounding a hurt or loss we never asked for and didn’t see coming.

Sometimes we even forget how they got there, those frozen moments we don’t want to face or relive. But if only we could find the courage to allow our hearts to thaw, find someone who can help us accept the past and move on, we could shut the door on a healthier heart and begin to live again.

I don’t know who hurt you, who you’ve lost or had to let go, what terrible moments of pain or grief you’ve gone through, I’ve known more than a few.

I’ve allowed my heart to be defrosted, no more ice to hold me captive. The warmth of God’s love and grace have melted the icy tomb that was my heart. Long held hurts healed and the past no longer chaining me. Yours can be revived and restored too. Dare you let yourself believe this? Dare you hope once more?

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

