Tell it like it is

I’m very fortunate to have three wonderful grandchildren. Everyone told me how different being a grandparent was. I’m happy to say they’re right.I’m even more fortunate that they live locally and I see them frequently, often having the joy of putting them to bed.

Special moments when sleepy hands and faces are washed, stories read and prayers said. My seven year old grandson  developed a charming routine when he was three as he snuggled down to sleep. He asked me to talk to baby DEDUS as he couldn’t pronounce Jesus properly then.

I asked him what he wanted me to say and he meandered through a list of people and things that  filled his day that he’d like me to mention. He simply told it like it is, whispering his own little Amen at the end.

Happily, now seven years old, the habit continues and Fin and I always pray before he goes to sleep. Over the last four years his faith has grown and his first thought is always that we must pray about people and things if someone is poorly or there is a problem. It is heartwarming to know that even when he’s older he’ll always know how to pray.

These enchanting moments are so precious, not just to me, but I suspect to the One who is always listening.We are encouraged to come like children, to share our troubles, worries and concerns, to say thanks for the blessings we’ve had and ask for the help we need.

Forget magic formulas, forget the grammar, forget the wish list. Just tell it like it is.We’re not talking to a cosmic Santa Claus but to someone who really cares and listens. He’s as concerned with the thoughts of my seven year old grandson’s heart as He is yours.

If you’ve never tried it, tried and given up, feel your words are hitting the ceiling, try again. Tell it like it is. You might be surprised at the response.

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

