Wetsuits? Not likely!

How comfortable are you in your skin? Do you hide away from others? Sit quietly at the back hoping you won’t get noticed? Wear muted colours not to attract attention? Feel conscious of your size or how you look?

Driving down the hill into my lovely village, the beach and the ocean open up in front of you in a soul soothing vista that refreshes tired eyes. Dotted about in the breakers are surfers of all ages in their shiny black wetsuits, trying to catch that elusive wave, disappearing for a heart stopping moment before bobbing back up and going out there again.

Drying off behind their vans and cars or struggling to get into those body hugging suits I’m very glad I don’t have to wear one! Being middle aged and more than curvy I’m happy to stay in more flattering gear.

But it got me thinking, how comfortable are we with who we are? How satisfied am I to allow others to see the real me, the one I’ve often tried to hide? Thankfully age has taught me a few precious lessons.

  • I can’t fix it for everyone, much as I might like to try.
  • I have come through many traumas and heartaches and survived.
  • It is definitely better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.
  • I am comfortable with who I am now for I am “fearfully and wonderfully made”.
  • I may not get it right all the time and mess up often but I keep on going.
  • Grace can handle everything.

So I don’t have to worry about what people think, I don’t have to apologise for being me and thank God I don’t have to wear a wetsuit!

Love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wetsuits? Not likely!

  1. Ja Vanloo says:

    Simply wanna input on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the subject material is rattling excellent : D.

Leave a Reply

