Keep calm and delete

Photograph of a rolltop writing desk and surro...

No this isn't my desk but I wish it was!

Being a busy person I have many reasons (some good ones) and excuses (not so good) for not doing things. The thing I’m not very good at is dealing with the piles of post and paperwork that fill my desk at work and my table at home. If my sister and my daughters are reading this they will wholeheartedly agree.

So every now and then I have to have a major blitz. Don’t get me wrong I meet my deadlines at work and I generally know which pile things are in but if someone else had to come and find things for me they’d give up in desperation. Sound familiar?

We live in such a 24/7 world where nothing stops and you can do most things even at 3am. So we are constantly bombarded by stuff that pours into our in-boxes and letterboxes and it all mounts up. When I finally feel guilty enough or desperate enough I will set to and sort out the rubbish, the shredding and the recycling.

Its here that I come across the long forgotten, the things I wanted to forget and the things that have to be done or else! And you know once I’ve done it, reduced everything to a black plastic bag or a pile of shredded paper or dumped the newspapers in the recycling bin, I really do feel better. Less stressed and less cluttered, free of the nagging voice in my head.

But it isn’t just my table or my desk that needs uncluttering, its my head and my heart too.

This when I need time and quiet space, to still my overactive mind, to allow those things that have been long forgotten, or the things I’ve tried to forget, or the things that are battering my thoughts and need to be dealt with, those things to come into focus. My “deleted” bin is full to overflowing,  junk mail that’s grinding me to a halt.

I realise there are people I need to forgive, including myself, attitudes I need to change, things to say thank you for and worries and burdens I need to hand over to the Burden bearer. I need to get  back to taking it one day at a time, dealing with stuff when it gets  to me, not letting it fill my spirit and drag me down.

God can clear away the rubbish, shred the worries and recycle my past to make me less anxious about the future. I just wish He’d show up in person and help with my desk and my table!

“Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.” Matthew 6:34 – The Message

Love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

