Lego bricks hurt!

It seems like only yesterday I was stepping on Lego bricks, ( and boy don’t they hurt!)or brushing the children’s hair or washing their faces but time passes and children grow up.

A pile of Lego blocks, of assorted colours and...

Image via Wikipedia

I remember when my eldest daughter started at play school, her innocent little face as we turned up and then her dismay when she realised I was going to leave her there. It was some time before she would stay without me. But the amazing thing is that children do grow into independence.

Fast forward a few years and she couldn’t wait to leave home. Life was a big adventure she wanted to be part of. I let her go with the same heartache as when she had started school. But the funny thing is children don’t always stay away. Like so many others she came home again when life didn’t quite work out the way she’d hoped.

I welcomed her back, knowing that ultimately it would only be a matter of time before she left again. She now has children of her own and faces the same heartaches as I did.

There is a wonderful example of a loving father in Jesus’ story of the Prodigal Son. He knew that his son needed to go away, to spread his wings and learn life’s hard lessons. He still ran to meet him when the son came home, broke and contrite, at rock bottom. He even held a great feast in his honour.

The father had been looking out for his son since the day he left. If we really love someone we have to be prepared to let them go, knowing that if we keep a  welcome and outstretched arms they can run back when they ‘re ready.

Is there someone you need to let go? Is there a prodigal you need to welcome home? Or do you need to feel the loving warmth of the Father’s embrace?

Perhaps you’re too ashamed or scared or think He couldn’t possibly accept you. God the Father waits for us, with outstretched arms and a loving embrace. waiting for us to come home to Him. No matter who we are,  where we’ve been or what we’ve done, He waits.

Lego bricks still hurt but love, generous, outrageous love will always keep a welcome for those who’ve broken our hearts but need to come home.

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

