Whatever you do ….

So its nearly another weekend. What kind of week have you had? How has life treated you? For me its been a whistle stop week of busyness and trying to catch up with important priorities.

But I managed to find some quiet time, just a small oasis early one morning. Marked only by the gentle tick of the clock , the quiet purr of the Rayburn and sleepy warmth as I sat at the kitchen table.

How long since I’d taken some moments like these? Moments to pause and reflect, moments to feed on the words in my Bible. I was reminded that there is always rejoicing when lost things and people are found. I was reminded too that Jesus went out of His way to spend time with the people no one else wanted to be with, those considered “despicable” by the so called pillars of society.

Who do I/we spend time with? Family is important of course, friends too, but are there other people out there who need my/your company? People who are lonely, unloved or unlovely. People who have given up on life and those who have been hurt and withdrawn from others.

What small something could I/we do to make a difference? I am hoping to do something for someone in the next twenty four or forty eight hours. I need to have my eyes, ears and heart open to recognise that someone. I need to do something not to boast, or to seek the glory or because there’d be some reward. I need to do whatever it is for someone because “whatever you do for the least of one of these you are doing it for Me”

So I’m looking for someone who needs to know a kindness, who needs something I can give or do, who needs to have their hope restored, who needs to know there is a great Someone who cares.

Matthew 25

35. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

 37 “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? 39 When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

 40 “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,[f] you were doing it to me!’

Love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

