Time for quiet rainbows

They appear suddenly and dazzle with their brilliance, disappearing again as quickly and quietly as they came. Rainbows I mean,

They always show up when there’s dark clouds and sunshine, like two sides of the same coin, like the way life is. Sometimes there seem to be more dark clouds than sunshine and the storms seem to be right overhead with no let up.

Then suddenly as the ragged edges of the clouds part and sunshine pierces the gloom the reward comes – the delicate beauty of the rainbow, so vivid against the sky, a perfect arc of colour.

God used a rainbow to remind Noah that while seed time and harvest remained Noah could count on God’s promises. I believe rainbows are a reminder to us that despite the dark times of our lives God is there and His promises to give us a hope and a future stand firm.

When I was going through some heartache the other day, when I was worrying about life and money and all the other problems I could think of the rainbow appeared in front of me. A magnificent curve in the winter sky, brighter than ever against the grey clouds behind it.

The still small voice said “leave the worrying to me”, “give me the pain in your heart”. Sitting on the hill over the bay framed by the iridescent shimmer of the rainbow I was so gently reminded that I need not worry about tomorrow for today is all I have, I need not use all my energy because it wouldn’t change anything.

How many of us toss the worries around in our heads like a dog with a bone? How many of us are robbed of our joy or peace by problems that seem to have piled up round our heads?

There is one, the Creator of the rainbow Himself, who is interested in every detail of every worry, every sharp stab of our heartache. No burden or heartache is too great for Him to bear for he sent us His Son to bear them for us.

This was why Jesus came, why we celebrate Christmas, why we need reminding through the rainbows that God is with us in our storms. This can be such a trying time of the year for so many, if you can be a rainbow for someone else then come alongside them, bring some light into their darkness, some comfort in their pain. Just do it quietly like the rainbow.

Love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

