Must I…?

So its that strange time between Christmas and New Year, those days where some things have gone back to normal and some haven’t. The Christmas decorations are beginning to lose their sparkle and the tree is flagging, shedding its needles even though it shouldn’t.

As we reflect on the end of the year and all that it has brought us for good or ill we wonder what will the next one will be like. Much social comment has gone on about the kind of year we’ve had and what the next one might hold. The world has been shaken by natural disasters and man made ones. Times are changing and it can feel unsettling and scary.

For some of us this will be a difficult time as we face a New Year without a loved one or friend that we lost in the year past. Maybe we’ve lost jobs, houses, relationships or our health in the last twelve months and it all feels too much to handle.

So many people believe that the New Year of its own accord will make things change, that at midnight on New Year’s Eve we’ll suddenly become happier, thinner, richer or younger. But what really changes at midnight except the date and the time?

New Year Sunrise

New Year Sunrise

Well an awful lot of us, 7 million apparently in this country, will make resolutions. We start off fervently to change our habits and end our addictions but soon end up feeling guilty and dispirited when we fail, some never to try again and others to make the same promises next year.

Nothing is actually achieved without effort or perseverance, must I really exercise every day? Must I really stop eating so much fat and sugar? Must I really not ever touch another cigarette? I know I have to get fitter and thinner and the two things are linked and I know it will be a challenge. Can I or will I persevere? I’ll let you know this time next year!!!

But people do change, sticking with it and achieving their goal. The triumph of the human spirit over adversity knows know bounds. If we really want help with change there is One who will help us more than any other. We don’t have to wait for a New Year to have a new life, that can start today.

God knows the plans He has for us, to give us a hope and a future. Don’t wait till midnight on New Year’s Eve. Why not come to Him today and ask for the new start that only He can give?

Happy New Year

With Love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

