No one is too old for Play -Doh

So its the end of the year and I’ve already thought about those for whom this won’t be such an easy time (see A Prayer for the Day) but there is fun to be had and New Year’s Eve is a perfect excuse.

I’m not talking about drunken excess here but a glass to the New Year will be had later. There’s much fun in play and only the other day I played with the granddaughters. finding something that spanned the generations to encompass a toddler and a nearly teenager was a challenge but we came up with Play-Doh.

We had bought a huge tub for Christmas with all sorts of colourful tools and shapes as well as dozens of tubs of delightfully squidgy bright dough. My youngest granddaughter just squeezed and squashed it in her little hands, it seeped through her fingers and kept falling on the floor. My elder granddaughter set about making a meal with a  very realistic  plate of tasty looking sandwiches and cookies as a result.

So what’s this got to do with anything? Well we’re never too old or too serious to have fun. Jesus went to all the best parties and knew about good wine and good networking. So at the end of this year, whatever its been like and as you enter the next, whatever it brings, go on have some fun, whether its Play-Doh or real grown up stuff enjoy yourself just for a little while.

A Happy, Blessed and Prosperous New Year to everyone!

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

