Up close and personal

Its been a couple of weeks since I wrote and I felt a bit like I’d lost my “voice”, some might call it writers block, call it what you will, I didn’t feel like I had anything to say. That’s changed because of some of the small seemingly insignificant moments that I’ve had have made an impact on me.

We live in an increasingly impersonal and virtual world where our interactions with people are less face to face and more at a distance. Don’t get me wrong I’m not knocking the internet or social media but we are in great danger of losing the  personal touch and for many life is just so busy.

I was surprised and delighted to find that people can operate outside the systems they work in, so often they follow the script or policies and procedures and can’t provide that human touch we all need sometimes.

Catching an overnight train to London I was having a conversation with the station manager while waiting for the train. He remembered me from a previous visit and because he’d had to lock the station waiting room early he offered to make me a cup of tea. I was very grateful and very surprised by his kindness. 

I love to try and surprise people with an unexpected kindness and I know there are great movements associated with random acts of kindness all over the world. Its awesome and humbling when a complete stranger does something extraordinary to lighten our load. or transform our day with their extravagant gesture.

But its not just the kindness of strangers that makes an impact its the connections we already have with the people around us that are so important. Obviously there’s family and friends but its also connections with the people in our local shops and businesses that can have a transforming power.

I like it that the guy in the garage has known me since I was a child and I can trust his service, the post lady knew me before she became a post lady, my friend works in the shop, people all over the place know who I am and can make a difference to my day. I have been blessed beyond belief in my life by the extraordinary kindness of people around me, friend and stranger alike.

But its not just about who knows me and what that can do for me. Its about what I can do for others. Who can I make a difference to today? Who needs a phone call or a visit? Who needs something that I can give, be it time or a practical need, who needs a prayer today?

That’s the beauty of knowing Jesus. He got up close and personal with the people around him. He wasn’t a religious recluse but a very real and very practical man who cared so deeply about those in greatest need. He knew what people needed most and not only changed people’s day but their whole life. The four gospels in the Bible are full of the things He did for the folk He lived amongst.

But those stories aren’t just dry history. His story continues and He’s still looking out for those who need Him most today, right now. He longs to show His extravagant love to those who are lonely, rejected, hurting, or who feel so bad about themselves that they think they’re worthless.

Most of all He longs to change your life forever, to give you the freedom from fear and guilt that only He can, to show you that He knows everything about you and loves you anyway.

Follow His example, show the personal touch to someone in need today, you never know what a random act of kindness will do, or how much a selfless act of love will lift someone’s spirit. I dare you!

http://stewardship-news.org/P3Z-PPP7-6248YJHL35/cr.aspx

With Love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

