For all our Mothers

Today is the day when mothers are thanked, celebrated, wined and dined, brought breakfast in bed, don’t have to lift a finger, allowed to have a day off and generally blessed, right?

Well for some of us some of the above may be true, for many there will be love, laughter and gifts and a chance to rest from the busyness of everyday life. For others there may be more of the same and not much recognition of the day at all. Some may have lost touch with children and families and face a lonely day, the meaning of motherhood fading into the past. For them I pause and spare a thought…

I loved my mum, I still do but only have memories of her now as she was struck down by a brain haemorrhage and taken from us too early in her life. Fifty was too young to die and we were in shock because it happened too quickly. We have such fond memories of her still, her quirky ways, her sense of humour, her courage when the going was tough, her sacrifice for us which meant she went without.

My mum wasn’t perfect but she was my mum. She could fly off the handle but come back down just as quickly. We miss her still and think how much she has missed out on now we all have children and grandchildren, only two of whom she saw.  We all owe her so much and its been wonderful to see her characteristics and some of her looks coming out in our own children and grandchildren.

Most of all I feel for those who don’t have brilliant relationships with their mothers, where there is tension or discord or things have have broken down and seem beyond repair. its easy to believe that all mothers are saints if you go along with the hype of mother’s day but we are all human and we don’t always live to the stereotypes, we all make mistakes and get it wrong sometimes.

I have also been very fortunate to witness the very best of mothers whose fierce love and protectiveness for their children drives them to incredible lengths of care and attention, I am privileged to work with mothers of disabled children who are an amazing group of people. Their courage and stoicism in the face of their challenges is humbling.

I have been blessed with the chance to be a mum myself. I know the highs and lows we’ve been through and the years I’ve spent beating myself up because I didn’t think I was doing such a  good job. I know the many mistakes I made, the things I’d do so differently if I could do them again. Then I look at my lovely girls and think maybe I wasn’t such a bad mum after all. They are such a blessing. 

The only thing I know is that Love conquers everything, the love of  mothers everywhere is such a force for good, the love we share, the love we show and the love we receive keeps the world turning. Schmaltzy and sentimental that may be but today is a day to celebrate mothers everywhere.

With love for all our mums, those still with us and those we have loved and lost

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For all our Mothers

Leave a Reply

