Its the little things that count

I don’t know about you but its easy to miss the small things in life when we’re busy or stressed or depressed or so caught up with life’s traumas that we’ve stopped noticing the small things.

It’s my birthday and I was grateful enough for the day off, away from the stress and pressure of my work. But right from the start of the day it has been the small things that have made it special. The lovely cards and wishes from friends and family, the very thoughtful presents, given with love and guaranteed to give me maximum enjoyment from those who know me well.

Then there was the unexpected phone call from my daughter and the grandchildren ringing and hearing them greet me in French from Disneyland Paris. Most charmingly my baby granddaughter wished me happy birthday in her own cute way. And it was still only quarter past eight.

The charm continued on a regular check up at the doctors. Because it was my birthday there was a message on the screen in front of the nurse and she had the option of playing Happy Birthday for me on the computer. I was very touched, a very small thing but a delight to me.

I’ve noticed the spring blossom on magnolia and cherry trees, the sound of the gulls on my roof, joined the hustle and bustle of city shoppers, smelled the coffee in the coffee shop, shared time and laughter with my younger daughter. Just a really nice day that didn’t involve anything major except time and love. Time to appreciate good things.

I can be in danger of being a workaholic, but today I took time out. God made us human beings not human doings, He took time off and rested from His labour on the seventh day, and saw that it was good. We are not meant to go without rest and time to enjoy the little things around us. God is in the small things, it is often through these He speaks the loudest.

So what small things have you noticed today? Maybe you haven’t yet but there’s still time. Or maybe there’s a small thing you could do for someone else, that doesn’t cost anything but brings joy or gratitude from someone who needs a light in their moment of need.

These words from the hymn “How Great Thou Art” remind us of our place in the world and how wonderful that world still is despite what we have done to it. Look around you, see the small things.

O Lord my God! When I in awesome wonder
Consider all the works thy hand hath made,
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed;

Refrain:
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

When through the woods and forest glades I wander
and hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees;
when I look down from lofty mountain grandeur,
and hear the brook, and feel the gentle breeze;

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, how great Thou art!

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Its the little things that count

  1. marygems says:

    Happy birthday Alice! God has had just as hard a job with me trying to transform me from a human doing into a human being- think it is that old protestant work ethic our generation were brought up with maybe? Anyway- i hope there has been a special blessing from God Himself- a token of His love for you-He’s crazy about you Alice! Loves you to bits.
    Thanks for encouraging me to see the divine in the ordinary- it’s a gift to be able to see this- a gift I pray to have increasingly as I age- my elderly Mother has nothing to be thankful for and it makes her life so miserable- I pray we won’t suffer so as the Holy Spirit keeps drawing our eyes to the beautiful handiwork of God clearly evident in the world around us.
    God Bless you!
    Mary, New Zealand.

    • Thank you so much Mary for your encouraging words. I did have a lovely birthday and am looking forward to some more small things today, lunch with a dear friend and an ice cream to finish the afternoon off. The Lord has reminded me today yet again that i must seek Him first and all these things will be added on, the big and the small. I shall pray for you and your mum in a minute as i go to meet my friend. May your day be blessed as you have blessed mine. Thanks

      Alice

      • marygems says:

        I am glad you have some fun ways to celebrate- nice to do something special like lunch with a dear friend and an ice-cream- sounds lovely. I often need reminding that when i seek HIM first, all else will be added unto me- glad of that word today as my son [ 37] who had a testicular tumour removed in November has rung to say he is most anxious that the other testical may have become involved-he has Aspergers and suffers terribly from panic attacks- am encouraging him to bring his mind into captivity to Christ Jesus, and have asked for the Peace that passes All understanding to guard his heart and mind in Christ Jesus. Thanks for prayers re mum- you just enjoy your birthday week and care for others when you have had some time for YOU :).

      • Hi MarySo sorry to hear about your son. My nephew is just undergoing chemotherapy for the same thing. He had surgery to remove the tumour in January but now has four small spots in his lungs, hence the chemo. I will pray for your son too as my prayer partner and I pray weekly for so many people with cancer. You have alot on your plate tp deal with. Praying God’s blessings on you and His special love to fill your heart. In Christ, from Alice

      • marygems says:

        Tell me your nephews name and I will pray for him as well as for my Jono who has now agreed to have chemo also. I keep my prayer partners pretty busy-aren’t they wonderful blessings in our lives? I thank God for them, and for YOU.
        God’s peace is His most wonderful gift to me- it truly does pass all understanding. Jono has been totally at peace too, since I prayed over him on Sunday.Our God is faithful.
        May there be good reports from both our young men! Eph 3 21:God is able to exceedingly more than we could ever ask or imagine……. where two or more are agreed concerning anything on earth, it shall be done for them. Amen and Amen.
        God Bless Alice.

      • Hi MaryMy nephew’s name is Chris, he is 30 years old and has a loving and close family. My prayer partner and I prayed for you and your son and mum this evening. I am glad I know his name now. This is where the internet is a blessing for it can bring people together from opposite sides of the world and enable prayer and support in difficult times. God bless you Mary and Jono, glad he’s going to have the treatment. Will be praying that it heals him. Alice x

      • marygems says:

        Thanks so much Alice- I agree- i get to pray for many people in the US of A !!
        I will pray for Chris as well- and many thanks for this lovely conversation! We can check back in with each other later on with good reports.
        mgemmill@xtra.co.nz
        that’s me!
        Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

