Time for a rest….

Its that time again, another weekend just beginning, another stretch of time, hours and minutes as yet unfilled and few plans made. Time is such a luxury for some of us, we never seem to have enough of it and too much to fit in to the time we have.

For others time stretches out like an empty desert, hours and days pass too slowly, no plans, no people to make any with, not much to look forward to.

How do we spend our time? Work is a necessity for most as bills have to be paid and food put on the table. Work claims some of our  best time leaving us with little quality time for anything or anyone else. Lately this has been the pattern for me.

We were made to work, rest and play but so often our work life balance is all out of kilter and something needs to change. If those of you who know me are reading this you will know that I am talking to myself here! But seriously all work and no play makes Jack and Jill very dull children.

The Creator of the universe rested at the end of His work, and saw that it was good. If He had to so do we. So this weekend I am going to try to forget the 9-5 and re-discover the joy of the natural world. I’m not going to set the alarm, I’m going to catch up with some of my nearest and dearest and I’m going to thank the Lord for all that He has blessed me with.

Jesus had some wonderful words to say about weariness.

Matthew 11 : 28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

Do you need some of that gentleness and rest too.? Come on and sit down, stop, find some silence, some scenery, some people you care about who love you, whatever it takes to get some rest, some peace.  Whether its the weekend or the week let your soul find what it needs to refresh you.

With love

Alice 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qvMFlL62XA&feature=relmfu

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time for a rest….

  1. Court says:

    Beautiful. There is not much more sacred then the sabbath and using it as a chance to draw close to God.

Leave a Reply

