A port in the storm

Time is flying by and another weekend is hurtling towards me yet it doesn’t seem like a week since I last wrote. We’ve had a week of continual heavy rain, strong winds and generally miserable weather. Storms and sunshine, grey skies and blue ones, typical April weather.

That’s much like life, life with its ups and downs, the eternal roller coaster some of  us never seem to get off. Life feels like a bad soap opera and the parts we play keep changing.

It has been a week like that for our family, serious illness has struck, others are undergoing powerful toxic treatment and then there was the death of a beloved pet. It seemed as if the storm clouds of life had emptied themselves over us and we were being blown all over the place.

So what’s your port in the storm, what anchors hold you when the gales are lashing your little boat? In the midst of the crisis the other night my granddaughter sent me a message from her phone asking me to get everyone to pray as a family member had  been rushed to hospital. I did just that and asked our church to join in. 

The reassurance that others were sharing the burden helped my granddaughter to settle, she knew who she could turn to and whom she could trust to handle the big things that were happening.

I am happy to say that progress is being made on all fronts and recovery is happening slowly but surely. People around me know I pray about everything and I don’t make a secret of that. I don’t know how I would cope if I didn’t have that to turn to. They sometimes put their faith in my faith and ask me to say one for them, or to “do my doings” as one friend puts it!

One thing is for sure, the storm won’t last for ever, it will pass sometime. There will be other storms and other crises but there will always be one anchor for me.

Jesus calmed the storm His disciples found themselves in, in the middle of one wild, dark night. When it looked as if the boat would sink and they would perish they woke Him up, scared and anxious. He simply said, “Peace, be still”.

I need Him to calm my storms, to stop the waves crashing over my boat, to be with me when I’m scared and anxious. He promises never to leave me or forsake me. It doesn’t mean there won’t be hard times ahead but it does mean I know there will always be my Anchor with me.

When we are faced with doubt and difficulty and fear clutches at us, we can cry out and  ask for help. The Stiller of storms hasn’t lost His touch. He’s waiting to hear from you. The words of this old hymn say it well.

Will your anchor hold in the storms of life,
When the clouds unfold their wings of strife?
When the strong tides lift and the cables strain,
Will your anchor drift, or firm remain?

Refrain

We have an anchor that keeps the soul
Steadfast and sure while the billows roll,
Fastened to the Rock which cannot move,
Grounded firm and deep in the Savior’s love

With Love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A port in the storm

  1. marygems says:

    Alice- I love that hymn- had it at my wedding a lifetime ago. Praying against harm from toxins for C- I love that verse in Luke 10.31: we can tread on snakes and scorpions, and NOTHING CAN BY ANY MEANS HARM US. I pray that especially for people as they go thru chemo.
    Sad you have lost a beloved pet- we sometimes grieve more than for a human as God created our pets to love on us, and it leaves a real hole when they go 😦
    This post on Soul Stops blog has been a blessing this week: I was thinking of you and God put this prayer on my heart for you.

    A Prayer For You

    May God’s light

    touch all that you do

    and illuminate your path

    as you walk

    even when it is dark.

    May His perfect love

    warm you through

    and through,

    like the sun’s radiating rays,

    removing fear’s chill

    and giving you

    the courage to blaze

    new trails in His name.

    May His Spirit serve as a

    canopy over your mind

    so that your thoughts

    are covered with

    what is true, honorable, good,

    lovely, and praiseworthy.

    May the shelter of His presence

    and His living Word

    guide you now

    and till we

    come to our path’s end

    and enter our forever Home

    with Him, where there will be

    no more tears,

    no more sickness,

    no more death, and

    where we will

    not need any lamp

    for He Himself will

    be our

    Light.
    God be with you and all whom you love, dear Alice.

    • Dear Mary
      Thank you so much for your encouragement again. I love that prayer and will share it with my sister whose son is the one going through the chemo. Still praying for your son Jon too. Be blessed for you kindness.

      Alice

Leave a Reply

