What are you waiting for?

How good are you at waiting? Waiting for someone, something? Waiting for life to change?

How often have you heard someone say “if you’d just waited….”? How many misunderstandings have occurred because we didn’t wait to hear someone else say what they meant?

There are all kinds of things we wait for, a letter in the post, the kettle to boil, a birthday celebration, the phone to ring, for someone to ring you back, to speak to someone on the end of the phone after waiting for ages ( a rare occurrence in these automated days). We wait in queues, in the supermarket, the post office, for the bus, the train.

In these technologically driven days we wait for programmes to load, apps to download, the  whirling circle to bring up the internet page we’re waiting to see, we expect it all so instantly, we wait for the document to open, the document to save, the e-mail to leave our outbox, the e-mail to arrive.

Farmers wait for crops to grow, rain to fall, the sun to shine, the price to go up. Mothers wait for babies to be born, for toddlers to toddle, for teenagers to get up, for those who’ve left home to come back. Sweethearts wait for loved ones, the sick wait to get better, the anxious wait for news. Workers wait for the weekend, the lonely wait for company, the lost wait for directions.

We spend so much of our lives waiting for something. When the children were younger we waited for them to get to the next”phase”, when they got older we wished they were young again. We couldn’t wait for them to leave and now we ‘d give anything to have them back so we knew where they were and that they were safe.

I’m not always good at waiting, especially for my computer to do its stuff, ask my daughter or my work colleagues!!!! We can waste a great deal of time waiting for the wrong things and we can ruin things by rushing in where angels fear to tread. Sometimes it seems we can never get the waiting right.

Sadly in our driven culture these days people just want instant gratification at the touch of a button, and they can have it but what are they missing out on?

Only today I sent a text message that didn’t arrive because I had the wrong number. But when I found the right number I realised I didn’t want to send the message, it might have caused more harm than good. Thank God for the chance to wait to hear from this person rather than go in with two left feet. They’ll never know!

Over the years I have learned, often the hard way, that a little more patience would have been so much better than my impulsive hurrying to end the wait. I have learned too that waiting for the right thing at the right time can bring about a positive change in me. I have discovered to wait for God and with God can be such a blessing.

I have learned that in accepting that waiting is essential there is a peace, a peace that passes all understanding, a peace denied the worried and the hurried, a peace that can keep us calm even when things around us seem out of control.

What are you waiting for at the moment? What are you fretting or worrying about? Is it perhaps a time to accept that waiting is the right thing, the only thing? Or is this a time to stop waiting and get on, move forward, grasp something that is rightfully yours, seize the day and all that?

Jesus said“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 14:27

If you want to know that kind of peace ask the Prince of peace to give you His peace that passes all understanding to either wait or to move. That peace is a gift that can’t be earned but is freely available to all who seek it. Its yours too for the asking.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

