I am loved…..

How many of us know we are loved? Really truly loved for who we are not what we do, loved for how we are not how we would like to be.

Love is such an immense subject with so many angles and facets and I couldn’t possible encapsulate all of it in a blog post. But love is what makes the world go round they say, love is blind, love changes everything.

This week saw my colleagues and friends help me say goodbye to the job I’ve held for four years. They threw a leaving party for me on Friday and I was truly overwhelmed by the love people showed. It wasn’t just the lovely gifts they gave me, which were amazing, or the cards they wrote but the effort people made to be there and tell me how much they’ll miss me.

I am sad to leave but it seems the right thing to be doing now for me and I hope I’ve been able to show love to those I’ve been responsible for. I’m not talking about about schmaltzy romantic love but the kind of bonds that form in small close knit teams.

The kind of love that thinks of others first, the kind that goes the distance, stands in the gap, encourages the fainthearted, sticks by you through the ups and downs; the kind of love that weeps when others weep and rejoices when there’s something good to share.

I’ve been lucky enough to receive that kind of love as well as give it. I will be the same person when I go to my new job and plan to carry on being there for people like I already have been. The love will have to show itself in action not just words, it will take time to build new relationships, to create trust and openness.

There is so much I could write about love but I take my role model from the One who loves us all unconditionally, who loves us and accepts us as we are, not because we’re good enough but because He is. Love came with skin on in the person of Jesus, came to find those who needed to know they were loved beyond measure, despite what they had done or who they were.

Love hung on a cross so that we might have the chance to discover how deep, wide, high and long grace is, a love that is endless and given freely. I know I’m loved here on earth by friends and family but I know too that I’m loved for all eternity, freely and unconditionally, with out limit.

Sound too good to be true? Well see what the greatest chapter on love says.

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance…… Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13

That’s the kind of love I want to show. I am so deeply grateful for all the blessings and the love I have been shown by those around me. If that’s the kind of love you’re looking for then come to the source of all love and ask Him to show you how much you’re loved.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

