I’ve started….. so I’ll finish

I hate unfinished business, half finished conversations, chores I start and wish I’d never, chores I start and don’t finish, friendships that peter out without ever knowing why and now it would be too awkward to ask.

My mum took many years to knit my dad a jumper, and I mean many years. It grew and grew and in the end was really only suitable for him to wear in his woodworking shed. But the thing was although it took time she did finish, eventually.There was a lot of love in that jumper.

We all have plans in life, dreams we dream of things we’ll do, places we’ll go, the kind pf person we’d like to settle down with. Some we achieve, some we don’t, life frequently takes us in a different direction, stops us in our tracks, then we can’t always finish some of the things we’ve started.

Over this weekend we’ve witnessed joyful celebrations of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, many touching scenes, wonderful pageantry and colourful spectacle. It has been fascinating watching programmes about life in the 1950’s, the decade I was born. I look back on my life and the many memories both good and bad. I think of all the things I have started and how many never got finished. I think of all the friendships I’ve made and how many I’m still blessed to have. I realise how blessed I’ve been, despite the trials and troubles I’ve seen, and the unfinished stuff … well most of that doesn’t seem so important now. 

As I write the sun has finally decided to appear out of what have been grey skies the entire weekend. I have some things to do that I must finish, some I have to start and finish for pressing deadlines. I need to get on and then I can enjoy the rest of the day.

The most important things are Faith, Family and Friends, without which I wouldn’t be where I am now.

I just want to leave you with a blessing, its a well known one that I may have used before but seems just right to me.

The Lord bless you 
    and keep you; 
 the Lord make his face shine on you 
    and be gracious to you; 
the Lord turn his face toward you
    and give you peace. (Numbers 6 :24-26)

With love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

