What they’re all about

Its been a while since I wrote as I have changed jobs and life has been so incredibly hectic. At last I have a day off tomorrow and lots to prepare for as we have a  wedding in the family this weekend. I missed posting a blog on Father’s Day but I am posting a poem my own father wrote many years ago about families.

For some families are special, safe places to be, close and affirming. For others the family represents heartache, conflict and rejection. But I hope you can all see something of the real meaning of family in the poem below. My own Dad was a real family man and knew all the ins and outs of family life. We miss him still but this lovely poem seems very appropriate just ahead of our family weekend.

The Family – By John Martin November 1991

Family feelings, family ties,

Family welcomes, family goodbyes

Family outings, family treats

Family greetings, family meets,

Family joys, family sorrows,

Family lendings, family borrows

Family quarrels, family strife

All these, a part of the pattern of life

 

Family visits, family walks,

Family trials, family talks,

Family deaths, family births,

Family sadness, family mirth,

Family secrets, family pride,

Family small, family wide

Family parties, family fun,

Something of interest for everyone

 

Family engagements, family marriage,

Family push bike, family carriage,

Family homes, family gardens,

Family blame, family pardons,

Family heirlooms, family wealth,

Family sickness, family health,

Family music, family song,

Moving the family journey along

Family history, family tree,

Laid out for everyone to see;

But the family asset that strongest will prove

Is the wonderful feeling of true family love

My Mum and Dad

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What they’re all about

  1. alex goad says:

    Hi,Watch This FREE Video How To Build Over 100,000 backlinks and drove over 500,000 targeted visitors from free traffic source to your sites http://rankbuilder2.net/ Get Google Top Spot Now

  2. If you want to get social bookmarking backlinks that will help skyrocket your website search engine ranking straight to the top, check out this site http://socialbookmarksubmission.org/

  3. Seo Pressor says:

    After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://seopressors.org You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

Leave a Reply

