It’s the little things that count….

Life has been really busy for me lately as my new job seems to swallow me up most days. However things seem to be getting more under my control and I feel less like the new girl. I’ve been determined to make a difference but it is only by small steps that I can achieve that.

Today though I got some positive unsolicited feedback. Someone encouraged me without me asking for it or seeking it. I like to believe I am an encourager so it’s deeply satisfying when something comes the other way. It made the world of difference.

How much do we encourage, speak positively, smile, listen or pay attention to other people? How much have someone’s words encouraged us? Or how damaged have we been by a careless word or phrase? It is said the pen is mightier than the sword but the tongue is mightiest of all.

I have seen first hand someone wither under a harsh discouragement, all self esteem destroyed by thoughtless verbal cruelty. The old adage about sticks and stones really isn’t true. Those of us who’ve endured cruel and cutting remarks know only too well the power they have had over us, for some that’s been almost lifelong.

So what little thing could you do or say today to make a big difference in someone’s life? Maybe you need to encourage your partner or your child, a sibling or a parent, a colleague or even a stranger. What can you say or do that would really change things for someone?

As I said it doesn’t have to be large or a grand gesture, the simplest smallest thing will be the world to another. Once you start looking you will soon find little things you can say or do.

Jesus had much to say about how we should treat others but perhaps some of His best advice was to love our neighbours as ourselves. If we aren’t comfortable with who we are we’ll have trouble loving others. But a good start is to think about how we would  like to be treated.

In Jesus eyes the “least of one of these” is still worth everything, no one is outside His care or concern, no one is unimportant to Him. His ability to reach those who feel outcast or marginalised is what sets Him apart. As far as He’s concerned love really does change everything. He proved it on a wooden cross.

So I want to encourage you, whoever you are reading this. You have worth, you are unique, you are capable of more than you believe. Even if you don’t believe me I still want to encourage you to get out there and look for the small things you can do, the encouraging words you can speak to someone else. In reaching out you will find you change too on the inside.

Kind words are like honey— sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.
Proverbs 16:23-25

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

