An attitude of gratitude

Finally after what seems like months of rain we have some sunshine. The really gloomy weather and lack of sunshine has hit some harder than others especially those who rely on the weather for their businesses to succeed, and those affected mentally by lack of sunlight.

But today’s blog post is just to say thank you, thank you for all the little things we take forgranted, sunshine or not. I am thankful that we live in a country still free, despite attempts to take those freedoms away. I am thankful that here in Cornwall we live in one of the most beautiful places with some of the most stunning scenery.

I am thankful that we have clean water from our taps, fresh water to drink and wash with. Thankful that I have food to eat, a roof over our heads, greenery and fresh air.

You may be thinking sanctimonious woman, thinking you’re so much better off than everyone else. I’m not. Watching shocking scenes of starving children in the Yemen this week, those devastated by flood or drought, those grieving loved ones in the most recent massacre in America, those I care for at work whose have been robbed of their dignity through old age or infirmity, those who have no hope for anything, seeing all of that makes me realise how much we take forgranted.  Like so many I feel helpless in the face of such a tide of human need.

In this “must have”, “me now”, “me first” selfish decade it is all too easy to want more and have more, to moan about what we don’t have rather than to be thankful for what we do. Yes there are huge inequalities in the world, I don’t have any answers on how to solve them other than to do what I can when I can with all the love that I can to try and make a difference.

So today I am thankful for the sunshine, for my family, for the beach I’ve sat on all afternoon, the food I’ve eaten, the water I’ve drunk and the bed I shall sleep in. I hug my loved ones close knowing how precious they are. None of us know what our tomorrows will bring, we have to live in the moment its the only one we have. Take some time out to realise how grateful you can be for the things you have.

Jesus said “Beware! Don’t always be wishing for what you don’t have. For real life and real living are not related to how rich we are.” And the apostle Paul reminds us to be thankful in all things. Next time you’re tempted to moan think about what you have and be thankful.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

