Back to reality ….

Its been too long since I wrote and there’s lots of reasons why I didn’t but they’re mostly excuses. The best advice of other writers is to write something every day, it doesn’t matter what.

So anyway here I am again, fresh from watching hours of wonderful Olympic events, sharing the triumphs and the tragedies, the history and the heartache, the colour and spectacle of what has been acclaimed as a fantastic Olympiad. 

I haven’t yet taken up any exercise since the games started but I feel I should, trouble is I didn’t look after my body when it was younger and exercise is more difficult now I’m older. It did make me wish I had done more to keep fit but perhaps its not too late, there is hope for me yet to get fitter.

I did marvel at the intense concentration and dedication of the athletes and the hours and months and years of preparation and hard work they had to put in to be considered good enough to compete.  A very clear lesson that if we want something badly enough, something really worth having then we have to be prepared to sacrifice and work hard for it.

Then there was the cheering, noisy overwhelming support of the crowds, willing everyone on to succeed. Athletes and commentators alike praised the supporters and spectators, we all need someone to encourage us on, to stand along the roadside in the rain and tell us we can do it, to help us out of the boat when we’re exhausted.

And then there was the feelgood factor, it felt good to me to be British, (you may not agree!), it felt good to be part of it even from our armchairs. It felt good to hear stories of how wonderful the volunteers were.  It felt good to share something global, to see nation alongside nation, in competition and yet in harmony too.

Finally there is the legacy of this whole event that so many talk of. The hoped for increase in opportunities for more youngsters to escape poverty and boredom by getting involved, you have to be in it to win it. The possibility of us all getting fitter and taking up cycling or rowing or swimming to reduce our waistlines and improve our heart rates. The even slimmer chance that the feelgood factor will last and translate itself into something better in society.

But for now its back to reality – back to work, back to ordinary TV, back to the problems we face. But the lessons from the games are that success is possible with hard work, togetherness is vital to that success and there’s more potential for good in humanity than we realise.

Amongst all the headlines about success and sporting prowess there has still been war in other places, personal tragedy for those who’ve lost loved ones in terrible circumstances. We cannot escape the realities of life but we can see that it doesn’t always have to be that way, there’s still hope for better things. Who can we encourage or support, who can we cheer on to success, what legacy will our lives leave?

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to reality ….

  1. Mary Gemmill says:

    Great to hear from you again Alice. How is your nephew? I want to thank you for including my son in your prayers when we were communicating earlier in the year. All clear still at my end- hope at your end also? I often pray for your nephew when I pray for my son.
    Here is a great verse for our loved ones:
    Protect them,so all who love your name may be filled with joy.
    For you bless the godly, O Lord, surrounding them with your shield of love.”
    Psalm 5:11-12
    God bless you Alice.

    • Hi Mary
      I am well thank you. My nephew went through his chemotherapy and Praise the Lord is free of cancer now. He has some side effects but is back at work and has become engaged to his girlfriend who looked after him wonderfully. Glad to know things are good for your son and I will continue to pray. Lovely to hear from you I often think of you and thank you for your time and trouble to write. Blessings in Jesus – Alice

Leave a Reply

