Chosen …..

I have a favourite cup that I really enjoy drinking from. You may think that’s a very insignificant thing to say but I really like this cup. I bought it last year in Ireland in a roadside pottery that had a wide range of things on offer all in the same distinctive style. I chose the cup primarily for the colours and also because it had my name on it.

It cost more than I would normally pay for a single cup but I really wanted it and it was my treat to myself. I managed to get it home safely and christened it with a cuppa. After a few weeks  a chip appeared on the rim. A very faint crack showed under the glaze but the cup was still usable and besides it was my favourite and I didn’t want to throw it away.

The cup is still in use and is still useful, I’ve drained it to the dregs of tea many times, I wash it and refill it when I come home from work, before I go to bed, when I’m thirsty. There is a potter’s mark on the bottom of it, branded by its maker forever.

You may be wondering where I’m going with all of this but you and I are chosen, chosen because we are precious and special to our Creator, marked with His mark , made in His image. You may be thinking “…that’s a bit far fetched, besides I’m too fat, too short, too clumsy, too bad to be chosen by anybody for anything. I’m useless….”

NO YOU ARE NOT. We all have flaws, some greater than others, that can hold us back and prevent us from achieving our potential. But as far as He is concerned God has chosen you. Jesus said “You did not chose me but I have chosen you, I have appointed you to go and produce fruit that will last.

There may be a time when my cup will break, maybe accidentally or because the cracks get too big but until then I will carry on using it, it will always have been special to me. Sometimes in life its easy to feel worthless or feel that we have nothing left to give. But there is always someone who will  need us, something we can do that will make a difference to someone else’s life.

Doesn’t matter that we may be chipped or flawed we are still chosen, still special and precious to God. Precious enough to die for, precious enough to be given another chance. We all hold our life within us, each day we can be refilled and ready to be used again and again.

Meanwhile I’m off to fill my cup again, be blessed and be a blessing.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

