Back to reality

So I’ve been on my little holiday and it was a really good rest, lots of sunbathing and swimming andas brilliant day out on Barcelona. Now its back to reality, back to work and household chores, bills and the usual daily stuff that life is made up of.

It is a year since I started this blog, as I said last week, and I was thinking about what I’ve written and why, what motivates me to keep going and whether I should change anything. Connecting with readers known and unknown is a challenge, especially as they span the globe. Who am I writing for? Why do I do it? Partly I write because its a challenge and I love the writing, partly because I think there’s something to be said. Sometimes I’ve been tempted to give up but then think what a waste of effort that would be.

Hopefully most of the time there’s a message worth sharing, some encouragement to share.      I was privileged recently when I was asked to speak at the funeral of a well known gentleman from our village. I was nervous but felt the overwhelming tone of it had to be uplifting, that even in the midst of grief there was room for warmth and humour. Thankfully I seemed to get it just right and the family felt the tribute was very fitting for their loved one. PROVERBS 17:22

I included the proverb “A cheerful heart is good medicine” because that reflected the character of the person we had come to remember. Cheerful people can be like rays of sunshine. But when we are in the depths of despair that can seem inappropriate or annoying. I think it is more to do with attitude, a cheerful attitude can make such a difference, can make people want to be with you.

My best friend has been in my life for just over fifty years. We’ve shared each other’s joys and sorrows. We almost never fail to make each other laugh, we know what we can get away with, when to comfort and when to encourage. We can be real and honest with each other. Despite some very major traumas and life events we both know the power of cheerfulness.

If you are going through tough times my thoughts and prayers go out to you, I pray that you will come through them and be supported along the way.  If life is good to you right now then you are blessed and I pray that things will continue that way.

It isn’t easy to be cheerful when life looks black and bleak and we don’t know which way to turn out of our problems. There aren’t always easy answers and we have to keep going because to stop would be worse.

All I know is that many times in my life situations have seemed hopeless, problems bigger than I can solve have  threatened to overwhelm me. That’s where blind faith has come to the fore, knowing that to stop or go back isn’t an option I’ve kept trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel. To know that ultimately things will change, and looking back it is possible to see that nothing has stayed the same for ever even though it felt like it would.

Age gives me perspective now and I can see that I’ve survived so much, there has always been the comforting presence of God through the valleys of the shadows. I’m not always cheerful, sometimes I want to moan and snarl at the hand I’m being dealt but there is help at hand I just have to ask for it.

I hope I will be able to continue to be there for others in their times of distress and sadness, that I will be the kind of presence they need, that I can weep with those who weep and rejoice with those who rejoice. That’s the way I want to be, not irritatingly cheerful but comfortingly real, ready with a smile or a hug, to be their good medicine.

With love

Alice 

For those looking for a longer read or something more in depth check out my other page on here “And there’s more…”

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

