Just to say thank you…

Its been the most glorious day, the last gasp of summer even if a little breezy and chilly. The sky is blue and I’ve been fortunate enough to able to spend time out in fresh air in the company of my delightful grandchildren. Image

The week has been very stressful so today was a complete antidote to all that. The most I had to worry about was ensuring the children were fed and watered and well entertained. We’ve been to the park, had ice creams and delicious pasties for lunch. Everything seems just that much nicer outdoors, food is tastier, just being away from the computer and the rat race is a real tonic.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to spend this time with the children, so thankful for the health and strength I have, so thankful for the sunshine, for the beautiful scenery I live in, so thankful for this day. Its so easy to take everything forgranted, to fail to acknowledge all that we have.

People spend so much time and energy striving for what they don’t have, they don’t see what’s right in front of them. Life really is too short and it isn’t a rehearsal. We only have the day we’re in, yesterday has gone and tomorrow hasn’t arrived.

My work in a care home has made me realise more than ever how we must appreciate each day we have, how precious is our health and our freedom. I think of friends who have lost loved ones recently and who would have given anything for one more moment with them, one more hour, one more day. Time passes all too quickly and we cannot get it back.

So just take a moment this weekend to think of all the things we can be grateful for, all the things we fail to appreciate on a daily basis. The attitude of gratitude will lift your spirits, will make you remember all those who are less fortunate, who don’t have the chances you do but who would give anything to have back what they’ve lost.

As the evening draws in and the clocks change, as winter evenings beckon I am thankful for this day and all that there has been in it. I pray you will be blessed.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just to say thank you…

  1. Pingback: Just to say thank you… | alicesapplesofgold

Leave a Reply

