Hang on in there….

Winter is still trying to keep hold of us but evenings are lighter gradually and early spring bulbs are beginning to  bloom. There is a promise of lighter brighter days to come. We trust that seasons will pass from one to the other, even if they do seem a bit confused at times.

With all the unrest in the world and with the foundations of established institutions in this country being shaken by scandal and politics its easy to wonder where to put your trust these days. Things we’ve long believed were safe and secure suddenly aren’t any more.

At times like these we can feel uneasy, as if we’re drifting away from things that no longer anchor us. I’ve been through some very difficult times in recent days and I know there are more to come. I am feeling very insecure, anxious and uncertain about the future. Just like so many of us at different times in our lives.

Coming through the door into my warm quiet house this evening I was reminded that for me there is only One in whom I can put my trust. Only One who will be my anchor in the storm, who knows the end from the beginning, who will be with me through every moment of every difficult day that lies ahead. 

There is a proverb which says “ Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
do not depend on your own understanding.” ( Proverbs 3 verse 5)  Someone once gave me that as a verse to hang on to and I remember being quite indignant at the time, thinking that I always trusted of course, what did they know?

Except I soon realised trust is something that grows deepens over time and I have learned to put my trust in God for everything, for the good times and the bad, for the strong days and the wobbly ones like those I’m experiencing now. All I know is that trust, and the faith that goes along with it, has seen me through so much and despite the difficult days that trust and faith has never been misplaced.

So as I wobble through whatever comes next I don’t have to be strong because God will be strong for me. I leave you with a verse of a well known hymn that I love.

Father-like, he tends and spares us,
Well our feeble frame he knows;
In his hands he gently bears us,
Rescues us from all our foes:
Alleluia! Alleluia!
Widely as his mercy flows.

God bless you in the words of this Irish blessing

May God give you…
For every storm, a rainbow,
For every tear, a smile,
For every care, a promise,
And a blessing in each trial.
For every problem life sends,
A faithful friend to share,
For every sigh, a sweet song,
And an answer for each prayer.

With love

Alice 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

