Friday’s gone….Sunday’s here!

Dawn of Hope ….

Feet wet from the early morning dew, eyes red from weeping, heart heavy with the ache of loss. Going to see Him one more time, goodbyes to be said. Its chilly out here in the hills, mist rises from the slopes as dawn creeps over the horizon

This is the place, this is where they put Him, sure that’s what I remember…..only I can’t find Him, where has He gone?

Heart beating wildly, panic setting in, hot tears running down my face again, stumbling over the stones, the stone that covered the cave ….moved? How? And where is He?

Too much to bear, the grief too great,  … I want to know where He is … my beloved Lord.

Someone comes, someone asking me why I’m crying, I tell Him it because they’ve taken my Lord away and I don’t know where He is, does this someone know? If so please tell me, please …

Then that voice again, I think I’m dreaming, that voice I knew so well. Know so well, I turn as He says it, says my name….”Mary”

Overwhelmed with fear and longing I reach out “Master…”

And it is Him, it is really Him, He reaches out His hands and I see the ugly scars, but He is alive. He asks me not to touch Him but I can see, I can hear, I know He’s there.

Joy and awe flood through me as I try to understand, then He’s talking again. “Go …and tell the others…”

Go and tell the others, He’s still telling us that today, tell others that He lives so they can too, that they might know freedom from guilt and fear, might know the new life that is possible by believing in Him.

I am breathless by the time I reach the others, gasping as I tell them what I’ve seen and heard, they can’t believe it and I tell them come and see, come on, its the greatest thing you’ll ever see.

Come and see for yourself, the empty tomb, the folded grave clothes, the sound of His voice as He calls YOUR name. Hope is here with outstretched, nail scarred hands and feet, Hope is here with love and understanding, softly, gently calling your name. Will you listen or turn away? Hope is alive and offering you a chance to change, a second chance… will you grab hold of Hope this Easter day? 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday’s gone….Sunday’s here!

Leave a Reply

