For my friends and those going through tough times

Life has been a bit topsy turvy but I think I have finally sailed into calmer waters in my work life – and for that I am extremely grateful. I am very fortunate to be working very close to home now with much less stress and more control over my days.

In the past few weeks I have been busy praying hard for people in all kinds of difficult situations and in great need of help and healing. Only today I have spoken to a dear friend whose health has suddenly been compromised, someone else is facing major surgery and all around me people are feeling vulnerable and aware of their own frailty.

For all those I know and love and for those who I don’t know, or who don’t even know I am praying for them, I want to offer comfort and support. I am here for you, willing to listen, willing to help if I can, willing to do whatever might make a difference in your time of need. I cannot fix things but I know who can come alongside you in this difficult time, He is your Helper, your Comforter, your Healer and He offers you Himself as your strength and stay now.

Four very caring friends carried their friend to Jesus, dug through a roof and laid him at Jesus’ feet. I care about my friends and loved ones and all I can do is carry you to Him through my prayers. There is a beautiful sweet simple hymn called “Brother let me be your servant” that I love and this is how I would like to be for those in need.

Brother, let me be your servant.
Let me be as Christ to you.
Pray that I might have the grace
To let you be my servant, too.

We are pilgrims on a journey.
We are brothers on the road.
We are here to help each other
Walk the mile and bear the load.

I will hold the Christ-light for you
In the night time of your fear.
I will hold my hand out to you;
Speak the peace you long to hear.                   

I will weep when you are weeping.
When you laugh, I’ll laugh with you.
I will share your joy and sorrow
Till we’ve seen this journey through

None of us know when we are going to need the help of another and we are often reluctant to ask for the help we need, pride or fear can hold us back. As friends let us all have the boldness to reach out and help, just as those four in the Bible story did. If we are in need then let us not be too proud or afraid to reach out and ask for help. A little support can go a long way to comfort and touch lives in a powerful way.

Lord I pray for my friends who need You today, please comfort and help them now in this time of need and lighten their darkness and bear their load. Thank You.

Amen

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For my friends and those going through tough times

  1. Pingback: For my friends and those going through tough times | alicesapplesofgold

Leave a Reply

