When words fail you ….

Its some weeks since I wrote because life has taken a very unexpected turn and I’ve been trying to find the words to say.

My dear friend has been diagnosed with cancer, which came like a bolt out of the blue, knocking the stuffing out of us for a while. This friend had been lost to me for many years, we had known each other as teenagers and then miraculously found ourselves in touch again after several decades. The bonds of friendship were quickly rekindled and we’ve enjoyed two and half rich years at a time in our lives when we can really appreciate the simplest of pleasures.

We’ve walked and talked in woodlands full of bluebells, on sunset beaches, in quiet old manor gardens. Our ears filled with sublime music and our mouths with laughter, we wanted very little except easy company and companionship. But what we didn’t know was how strong a foundation we were laying.

A lasting rock that would weather the storms up ahead.

In a few short weeks we have faced bad news together, found that what we  had could be relied upon to keep us going through tears and shock, through sickness and anxiety. It was easy to embrace the caring , an act of deeper love than the heady infatuation of youth. It is hard to watch the pain and the suffering but even that is being relieved.

Despite the circumstances we are still able to laugh, to find hope in the darkness, to stand on the shared faith we both have. The future is very uncertain for my very dear friend, we live for each day, treasure every moment. What has been remarkable is that even in the midst of their own difficulties they have found compassion for others and a continuing generosity of spirit that has been humbling.

I may lose the ability to find the words in days to come but all I know is that we have been shown such love and support and that along with the power of many people’s prayers is holding us up. My words for now are live each day to the full, treasure each moment with loved ones and don’t forget to tell them how much they mean to you. You never know when life may take an unexpected turn.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

