The Beautiful Thing ….

For the first time since I started it almost two years ago I have missed a month with a blog post. Trouble was I had both my hands gripped tight to this roller coaster that I’ve been riding with my very dear friend. Coming back from the edge of life has been a long slow but amazingly blessed journey.

We have finally come to a standstill for a while and life has improved for him so much. Each day we have given thanks for all the little things that have changed for the better. Each day I go in and out of that room and every time I come out I feel blessed. Blessed to know this wonderful person, blessed to be able to care for them, blessed by the love that is being shared more and more.

Yes there are moments of acute heartache, when I try not to look further than the day we’re in but sometimes I fail and the tears fall quietly. Friends have been amazing, visitors abound, each with their own little gift of time and love. There it is again – the love. That word so often overused and tossed carelessly around.

But I truly know that’s what this is, love that is being tested in the fire of adversity, that is coming up trumps every time. The real deal that St Paul talks about in his timeless letter to the Corinthians, devoted to that one theme, that one power that towers over everything else.

A favourite place

A favourite place

The roller coaster may start again at any time, even as I write and it may be another white knuckle ride to a place we don’t want to go. But there is one thing for sure, this love has been a beautiful thing shining in the heart of pain and sickness, as Paul so emphatically says

 Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

Enduring is very much the order of the day at present, keeping our eyes fixed on the Lord is sustaining us, hour by hour. We are living something we’ve never lived before, we are being blessed like we’ve never been blessed before, every day , every moment precious.

This powerful love comes from heaven itself, came two thousand years ago and lived among us. This love gets its hands dirty and its heart broken, hangs on a cross for the sake of grace and restoration. This is the truly beautiful thing that is holding us up, holding us together.

Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Beautiful Thing ….

  1. Pingback: Thousand words I fail to say. | Words from the Pink's layer.

Leave a Reply

