…and the greatest of these is love ….

Today I said goodbye to a gentle gentleman, my best friend and someone who had the capacity to draw people together through his caring nature. Candles, incense, prayers and tears marked the sad occasion as many friends gathered with his family to say their goodbyes too. Sunlight streamed through the glorious stained glass window, lightening the sadness.

I don’t like goodbyes at the best of times and I knew today would be hard but it was a blessed farewell, a fitting salute to a kind and thoughtful man who will be missed so much. This has been such a momentous time the last few months and I know I’ve been part of something special, something bigger than me, something of eternal significance.

I am so grateful for all the blessings there have been and the memories I have to cherish. There will be difficult days, for that is the nature of grief, but I can only marvel at the outpouring of love, God’s love and human love that has characterised these last weeks and months. Love truly is a many splendoured thing and as Paul tells us  “There are three things that remain—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.”

Driving home from the beautiful service there was another rainbow in the sky. A brilliant arc against the dark rain clouds, the promise of hope, of a future that may be very different than the one I imagined, but a future nevertheless. The overwhelming message of the morning was that death really isn’t the end of everything, that we have the promise of eternal life and a joyful reunion with those we have loved and who have gone before.

Until then I have life to go on living and others who need loving and supporting. My dear friend is at peace and his legacy will long continue as he is remembered for all the kindness and generosity he showed.

A huge thank you for all the love and kindness my friends and family have shown me. I’ve been overwhelmed with cards, flowers and loving messages from so many people. I am looking forward to whatever may come next but will never forget this truly amazing chapter in my life.

 With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

