For all our tomorrows

This weekend has seen annual Remembrance Ceremonies both here and around the world. The cold grey of November days seems symbolic of the sadness shared by millions over lost loved ones who gave their lives in the name of freedom. Against the backdrop of leaden skies the vivid slash of red poppies reminds us that that freedom came/comes at a price.

Last night’s Festival of Remembrance was a wonderful tribute to those fallen and those still serving. One special moment shone out when a young girl was unexpectedly reunited with her father after she sang with the Poppy Girls. Her joyful tears were shared with the nation.

The Poppy Girls perform our Poppy Appeal single for 2013

Those who’ve been bereaved somehow have to find the courage to carry on, to face each tomorrow without their loved one. Grief is like a heavy blanket, a sadness that wraps itself around your soul, that pierces sharp in the first light of dawn, that wets the pillow with tears at night.

Before my recent loss I wrote in my diary about not knowing how many tomorrows there would be. Sadly there weren’t as many as I had hoped for. But somehow I get up each tomorrow and battle through the day, sometimes lots of tears, then a smile at a happy memory.

My heart goes out to all those families of servicemen who live with the constant anxiety of losing someone they love. Touched by their dignity and courage our thoughts and prayers are with them all this weekend especially. None of us know how many tomorrows we or our loved ones have so that is why we have to make the most of today. Today is all we have, yesterday has passed and tomorrow is not yet here.

So tell those precious ones you love them, take time to be with them, hold them, hug them, make memories with them. Jesus tells us not to be anxious about tomorrow, live one day at a time. That’s wise advice but we rarely heed it. So today I am thankful that I have a family, that I have friends, that I have this day I’m in. I hope I will have made the most of it and that there will be another day tomorrow.

I love these words of the Kohima Epitaph which we hear each year

‘When You Go Home, Tell Them Of Us And Say,
For Your Tomorrow, We Gave Our Today.’

Today we thank all who have given their tomorrows for our freedom.

http://www.britishlegion.org.uk/

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

