This is the day ….

Today has been one of those glorious days that tells you spring is really just round the corner, a day of peaceful time, fresh air, sunshine, the company of family and the opportunity to just be, to enjoy the moment.

Our souls, bodies and emotions take a battering over time, especially if you work and look after a family, have a high pressured job with lots of responsibility or have just been going through tough times.

Bodies need rest, exercise, a break from the punishment we put them through. Our souls and emotions do too. There’s a great deal written about lifestyles, choices, self help, all kinds of advice about what you can do to improve your life. The one thing is for sure – nothing happens overnight. We don’t just decide one day to diet or exercise and then wake up the next day thinner and healthier. It all takes effort and persistence. But unless we start nothing is going to change and we are going to need help too.

If you’ve been running on empty, giving out without taking in you will eventually come to a full stop. I am not some kind of lifestyle guru. I have been in that place, come too near to it too many times. I can advise other people but am not very good at looking after myself. I made a small start today, much in need of something to put back what the last few months have taken out of  me.

Today I got some restoration for my soul and body. As I said the sun has been shining. After the terrible storms that have battered our village, and especially our beach, it was wonderful to see blue sky and feel the warmth of the sun on your back. So I had a lie in first, took my time getting up and pottering about. I knew I needed spiritual restoration too and took some time out with God and my bible.

The fresh air and sunshine were calling and there was only one place I wanted to go. A walk to the beach got the joints loosened up and I met people I knew to talk to on the way. I can’t put into words how refreshing the sound of the sea was, how heart-achingly beautiful the seagulls soaring high above our broken pier looked. Beaten up as it is the beach is still there, is still  my home, is still offering itself as a place of restoration.

Having given myself a break from eating too,  lunch suddenly seemed like a good idea. On the spur of the moment that turned into a family lunch by another beach. Food tasted good again, enjoyed with a view of dunes and wide blue bay, and the delightful company of my baby granddaughter. Time slowed down and an hour felt like an afternoon. All good for putting me back together again.

One of my favourite psalms in the wonderful Psalm 23. This amazing writing describes the tender care that God provides for us if we will but come to Him. Green pastures, still waters, rest and restoration. And all that followed by a feast, a banquet where we are the honoured guest.

Psalm 23

Because the Lord is my Shepherd, I have everything I need!He lets me rest in the meadow grass and leads me beside the quiet streams. He gives me new strength. He helps me do what honors him the most.

 Even when walking through the dark valley of death I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me, guarding, guiding all the way. You provide delicious food for me in the presence of my enemies. You have welcomed me as your guest;[b] blessings overflow!

Your goodness and unfailing kindness shall be with me all of my life, and afterwards I will live with you forever in your home.

Yes it has surely been a restoration day, food for body and soul. Nothing fancy, all provided for my benefit. I am thankful that I have been so blessed today and that I grasped the blessings one by one as they came along. Savouring the moments, as twilight steals the sky from the day, I am feeling peaceful and blessed, there will be more storms, more pressure, more busyness to come for sure. I am reminded that “this is the day the Lord has made”, I am glad and rejoicing in that.

I pray you will come for restoration, take time out to allow yourself to rest and receive the peace and blessings that the Lord longs to shower upon you. They say every journey starts with one step.Take that step today.

With love

Alice

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

