Finding the way….

Its been a very busy few weeks and I have celebrated an important milestone birthday with family, friends and have been thoroughly spoiled. It was all very enjoyable and I am settling into the new decade gracefully.

There are many people around me who are going through very difficult times at the moment. I am doing all I can to support them and it keeps me busy in prayer. I have had my own struggles and am still working my way through my own stuff.

One of my greatest blessings is music. I have been singing since I was three years old and play the piano. I adore music and I cannot imagine life without it. I have used music to relax with, to rejoice with and to cry to. It lifts my heart and fills me with all kinds of emotions, it soothes my soul and comforts me. I remember spending hours in  my bedroom as a teenager nursing my broken heart to the strains of Simon and Garfunkel, Cat Stevens and also Bach organ music (which I happen to love)! As I’ve grown older my tastes have grown ever more eclectic. If I like it I like it

I am very fortunate to sing with a large mixed choir and it is thrilling to hear the sound when we are all singing full throat in some of the powerful songs we perform. Today we learned a modern anthemic piece called “For as long as I have music”. The words are beautiful and it extols the power of music to shape us and to keep us going in the darkest of times.  There is the wonderful phrase “If music be the food of love play on…”. Lovers have their own special tunes that mean the world to them.

My most memorable musical experience was going to the Royal Albert Hall with my beloved friend David, no longer with us. An avid “prommer” he would queue for hours to stand and listen to some of the most sublime music written. We went the more traditional route and had seats near the front of the auditorium. The rich choral work that is Bach’s B Minor mass was a divine feast for our ears. Music had brought us together again and kept us royally entertained over the years of our friendship. I plan to go again this year, albeit on my own, but I will go to honour his memory and hope he would have approved of my choice of concert. 

I hope you enjoy listening to this beautiful song and that you too find the comfort of music and the presence of the Divine Comforter in whatever life might be throwing at you right now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENCCC411FKc

With love

Alice

 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

