To everything – turn, turn, turn….

As the summer comes to an end and the autumn shadows lengthen, nights grow longer, days shorten and children return to school, my life has taken a new direction. The roller-coaster journey continues and I have made some momentous decisions about what I do with this season of my life. I began this blog three years ago this month and as I look back over the last three years I am amazed at how much has changed, and how much I’ve been changed by events and circumstances, especially those out of my control.
I have changed jobs three times, been bereaved, been stressed and blessed, seen highs and lows, have loved deeply and been loved just as deeply, have laughed and cried at the things that have happened and somehow I can carry on.
Hitting the big milestone of 60 this year, and the traumatic life events of the past twelve months, made me realise that life was too short not to try and achieve long held dreams and aspirations. I needed to let go of the stress and responsibility of the role I had and change course completely. Setting my sails for a distant horizon, and leaving the security of a regular income to pursue a long held ambition, will see me join other students at our local college next week. I plan to train as a counsellor, having a sudden window of opportunity to do something I’ve wanted for so long.
Two years of hard work are ahead and I am hoping I will still have the mental capacity to cope with all the study but am focusing on my goal. Supporting myself in the process I have also become a freelance trainer, giving me some control over my time.
I have been so fortunate to have this chance and although a little nervous I am excited by the possibilities of meeting new people and facing new challenges. Life is all about seasons, beginning and ending in relentless succession. The trouble is we never know how long a season is going to be and don’t always recognise when one is ending and another starting. Sometimes we have to be helped to let go of something or someone in order for the new season to be ushered in.
I am not always very good at letting go and can hold on to things and people longer than is necessary. The title of this post is from the song by the Byrds. I used to love this  and my best friend and I used to sing it. It is based on words from the book Ecclesiastes in the Bible. The passage reminds us that there are times and seasons for everything, recognising that and going with the flow is going to be better for us than fighting it.
There are new seasons for my loved ones too and we have witnessed the most moving ceremony to name the local pilot gig boat “Amy Shaw” in honour and in memory of my beloved niece Amy. It is thrilling to see her being rowed out of the harbour and to see the pictures of her amongst the tall ships at Falmouth recently.My baby granddaughter ( not such a baby now) has begun her life at school and settled well so far.Family birthdays have been celebrated, albeit without the one we love so much and whose presence is so missed.
The seasons continue, autumn has never been my favourite time but despite the heartache that comes and goes I am actually looking forward to this one. With so many new beginnings I can’t wait to see how things work out.
In the meantime we continue to support each other as a family, like we always do, and I have my faith and hope to keep my head up when the going gets tough. In the words of the Byrds and the Bible “…and a time for every purpose under heaven”.With love

Alice

PS My apologies for the slightly strange formatting but I lost the entire post and had to retrieve it from an earlier draft. Hence the less than flowing look to the blog.

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

