Hello at last….

It is so long since I wrote anything here, as the time went by I began to think I would never write again. But I’m back! I had fully intended to post something meaningful at Christmas  but that came and went in a mixture of busyness and missing loved ones no longer with us. We loved our beloveds with balloons on Christmas Day, a special candle on the table, sending them our love to heaven.

Amy's Christmas Candle

Amy’s Christmas Candle

All the I love you's

Sending our love to heaven

Sending our love to heaven

Then I thought –  New Years Day, a good day to blog something at the start of another year. That didn’t happen either as wham! I was taken down by a very nasty infection in my leg. For the last six weeks I have been battling back to health from a very vicious bug which needed much persuading to leave by strong antibiotics.

I feel as if I’ve missed out a bit on things but have decided that Spring is round the corner. Actually its shining bright yellow from the daffodils in my garden, the lighter mornings and evenings gradually chasing Winter on its way. As the year begins to gather pace we are looking forward to a family wedding and a new family arrival. The cycle of life continues and despite the heartaches of our losses we move with it.

Dave's orchid blooming again

Dave’s orchid blooming again

Breath of Spring

Breath of Spring

There have been so many traumatic and terrible events since the New Year began and so many people’s lives have been changed forever by violence and greed. It is hard to know how to respond to the images we have seen and yet we cannot remain unmoved by the horrors unleashed and the suffering that followed.

As the stories fade from the headlines and others take their place its easy to become immune to the tragedies that unfold, to believe that the darkness has finally won. I don’t have any easy answers. But I do know that the darkness can never overcome the light, the light can never be extinguished. That’s a promise.

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:5  NIV

So I hope I’m done with being poorly for now and look forward to what lies ahead, much of which is completely unknown and definitely better that way. I know of so many around me going through their own heartaches and battles and keep them in my thoughts and prayers. I wish everyone I know peace and freedom from fear and anxiety. I hope to share your journey in the months ahead but for now send you all my love.

With Love

Alice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

