One day more….

So here we are at the end of the first month of this year. I don’t know how its been for you but I am always truly glad when January leaves and February arrives. I’ve been driving to work and back in the dark for the last three months but happily the mornings are much lighter and the evenings are finally drawing out. The weather hasn’t behaved as it should and the rain and wind have seemed incessant, especially to those who have experienced flooding and the destruction of their homes and livelihoods.

With the advent of February there is the promise of spring. That too has been earlier this year with daffodils and other seasonal plants blooming already. It is heartening to see the nodding golden heads of daffodils appear along the roadside and in the fields. A promise that there is change in the air, there is more to come and more to enjoy.

For me personally it has been a busy month but punctuated by a delightful trip to London last weekend to see my favourite musical Les Miserables. This was an excitedly awaited event as my eldest granddaughter had bought me a ticket for my Christmas present, along with one for her as this is her favourite show too. The weather was kind, although getting up at 5am was a little painful!

20160123_12194420160123_122330

20160123_132506

 20160123_132251-1      20160123_133941

The whole day was relaxed and we soaked up the atmosphere on the streets of London before watching the show. The story is well known and beloved of the millions of people who have seen it all over the world. The emotionally stirring music a powerful reminder of the transformation that is possible in our lives through love and forgiveness.

20160123_134216

The songs have been playing in my head all week. Doubtless I will go and see this again, it is compelling. The author of Les Miserables, Victor Hugo was himself no stranger to hardship and my favourite quote of his is this “To love another person is to see the face of God.”

20160123_142040

There are faces we may no longer see but they are alive in our memories, still loved, still missed, still spoken of with longing. There are new faces to learn, new people to love, new love to be experienced. One day more to make a difference, one day more to love and be loved, one day more to live life to the full.

So as Spring bursts into the end of winter I pray for all those I know and love that life will be kind to you, that you will know the love of family and friends, and that through that love you too will see the face of God. I leave you with this other lovely quote from Victor Hugo

“Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face”

With Love 

Alice

 

About alicesapplesofgold

I'm a mother and grandmother, though not so old, and live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, Cornwall. fortunate enough to live by the sea I never want to be too far away from its sight and sound. I love music, words, painting, life, my family, my friends and most of all my faith. I live on the same roller coaster as everyone else but love to encourage others, support them when they're struggling and most of all want to have made a difference to the world by the time I leave it. I believe faith is an intimate part of everyday life and seek to relate the ordinary to the divine. It is the encouragement of others that has brought me to this point.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

